Waterloo Bridge, London, UK

Close your eyes with me and imagine you are on a bridge.

For me it is not just any bridge, however.  This is a bridge over the River Thames in the heart of London connecting West End Theaters, Covent Garden, and the Strand to Southbank restaurants, walkways, and Waterloo Train Station.

As a structure it is not the most grand or memorable, but for me it is a spiritual center, a place that provides me an absolutely guaranteed period of living in my moments.  My bliss, my center, and possibly my favorite place on this Earth.

What makes the Waterloo Bridge so special?  It sits on the bend of the river and affords a somewhat mesmerizing view both East and West of structures and landmarks such as Canary Wharf, the City of London, The London Eye and the Houses of Parliament.

Waterloo Bridge has been the subject or backdrop of a play and three versions on film (1931, 1940 [with Vivien Leigh & Robert Taylor], & 1956) as well as pop references by Louise Marshall (“Waterloo Bridge”) and The Kinks “Waterloo Sunset”.

I have stood upon Waterloo Bridge several times on each and every visit to London.  It is magic.  It is Joy.  It is what a pure form of meditation is all about.

Close your eyes and join me on Waterloo Bridge.

Stop. Smile. Breathe. Travel.

 

One response

  1. Lovely imagery! That for the burst of r&r!

Leave a comment